Chilean Society of Evolution Communiqué

In relation to the events that have occurred in our country over the last few weeks, Chilean Evolution Society rejects human rights violations identified by national institute of human rights, Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch. So we are also part of this social movement and we believe that it is necessary to rethink the neoliberal model that has been imposed in Chile, because it has not only generated an unjust and unequal society, but has also encouraged the destruction of our natural heritage based on extractivist policies.
As evolutionary biologists we understand the great relevance of safeguarding the biodiversity components of our country, as well as the environmental factors that enable its persistence and the dynamic processes that will generate new biodiversity in the future. We consider that the above, not only is it essential in terms of the conservation of our biological heritage, it has a direct impact on socio-environmental processes, And so, quality of life of the Chilean population. It is essential to include among the measures associated with social demands, legislative tools in a new constitution, those that prioritize the effective safeguarding of our biodiversity. We agree that the foregoing should be taken into account as the subject of law, not only the human species as the main focus, but also to all the biological components that enable our persistence and that of the ecosystems that provide us with fundamental services.
In this same sense, for decades we've been complicit, assets or liabilities, at our Universities, Institutes and laboratories, how the current socio-economic system has precarious the working conditions of our country's scientists, which has finally undermined the social commitment of the sciences, normalizing our isolation from public discussion. However, this movement of millions of Chileans and Chileans has generated instances of communication and discussion, must be used for the construction of a dignified and equitable country.
Based on the above, the board of the Chilean Society of Evolution and the partners here are no strangers to this social revolution, therefore we are committed to working together to contribute to public policies and civil society from our area of expertise, offering us to build partnerships with state and/or private agencies that are working for a better tomorrow. At the same time, we are committed to actively working to change the productivist model that prevails in today's science and the precarization of the sciences, as well as promoting decent working conditions and working environments free from discrimination and harassment at work and sexual harassment. In this sense, from our scientific society we have implemented a code of conduct that promotes that our scientific events are activities free from all kinds of harassment and discrimination. Finally, we offer the platform and activities of this Society to generate instances of discussion to contribute to the development of a Constitution focused on the well-being of all, and to ensure the unrestricted protection of our country's biodiversity and natural resources.

1. Alejandra V. Gonzalez
2. Elie Poulin
3. Maureen Murua
4. Paola Saez
5. Carezza Botto
6. Luis Castañeda
7. Pamela Morales
8. Fernando Torres
9. Dusan Boric
10. Victorian Pedro
11. Hugo Benitez
12. Marco Méndez
13. Carmen Gloria Ossa
14. Claudia Guerrero
15. Andrés Sarrazin
16. Paulina Ossa
17. Rodrigo Medel
18. Claudia Maturana
19. Leyla Cardenas
20. Nicole Sallaberry-Pincheira
21. Claudio C. Ramirez
22. Marie-Laure Guillemin
23. Moses Valladares
24. Miriam Perez
25. Cristian Correa
26. Juan Carlos Ortiz
27. Florence Tellier
28. Juan Carlos Marín
29. Franco Cruz
30. Juan Opazo
31. Maria Fernanda Pérez
32. Francisco Fontúrbel
33. Juliana Vianna
34. Christian Ibañez
35. Marcela Astorga
36. Patrick Moreno
37. Alex Vargas
38. Pablo Céspedes
39. Angie Diaz
40. Daniel Gomez-Uchida
41. Ricardo Campos
42. Luis Pastenes
43. Madeleine Lamborot
44. Franco Cianferoni
45. Josefina Cabezas
46. Maria Cecilia Pardo Gandarillas
47. Claudio Correa
48. Gonzalo Collado
49. Claudio González
50. Sylvain Marcellini
51. Guillermo D’Elía
52. Nelson Velasquez

Download PDF